Sign In to Add a Forum Post

NOTE: These forums exist for archival purposes only.
Please post any new, active discussion topics to the most appropriate corresponding adoption group

Questions about the Adoption Process
Posted: 03 November 2010 11:03 PM   Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  1
Rank

Hello everyone!  I’m new to this website, but I have been wanting to adopt for over 10 years.  I am just learning about the adoption process and I’m having trouble understanding some things:

New York State Social Services Website states that an adoptive parent should choose (Very carefully) an agency and then do a homestudy….some of the books I’ve read said that you should get a Home Study done privately so you can obtain as many copies and send them to as many agencies as you want….but other things I have read state that it’s difficult to change agencies once the process has started.

Other things I have read state that you should do the home study first and THEN choose the agency…Does this make sense?  And does it matter who does your home study? 

I want to adopt a child in the US from the foster care system….do I work through an independant agency or through the State’s Social Services?  I want to adopt a child with special needs (special physical needs) and I’m wondering if it’s possible for all foster children in the US to be a consideration?  i.e. if I go through any one agency will I only be able to consider a certain number of children?  Or will there be children all over the country to consider?  I realize I have to do my own agency research but I’m having difficulty making sense out a lot it.  THere are many agencies that aren’t specific to a state but they ask you to submit a Home Study…..I hope I’m not rambling too much and someone can understand my confusion and point me in the right direction!