Sign In to Add a Forum Post

NOTE: These forums exist for archival purposes only.
Please post any new, active discussion topics to the most appropriate corresponding adoption group

1 of 5
Not open to Open
Posted: 28 October 2010 03:41 PM   Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  6
Rank

Hi everyone… I am looking for some info/support. My husband and I have been working on adopting for several years and have looked into the options, talked to other adoptive parents, spokent to lawyers, planned our Home Study etc.

We just can’t bring ourselves to be willing to do an Open adoption. I know they are becoming more popular as the days go by but we both can’t imagine it. I’m actually afraid this will limit our choices when it comes down to being accepted as a forever family.

If you’ve done Open, please tell me how it was.
If you chose not to do Open, was there a reason?

Are we just being silly not wanting to do this?

Posted: 29 October 2010 04:10 PM   Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  25
Rank

Blakesnewface:
It’s Susan here of Adoptive Families.

Closed adoptions (no identifying information exchanged by birthmother and adopting family) are very rare today (although they do happen) and requiring that might indeed limit your chances of successful adoption.

Nowadays,  “open” adoption (In which some identifying information is exchanged and sometimes the birthmother and adopting family meet before the adoption) is the norm.  However, the degree to which there is ongoing contact, after the adoption, is entirely up to the wishes and the agreement of the adopting family and the birthfamily.  In some cases, the birthmother wants no further contact.  In the majority of cases, the birthmother and the adopting family agree that the adopting family will provide updates (photos , etc) at certain intervals but there is often no further face-to-face contact.